1921: Anna Zesut Marries Peter Spark.

My Great Great Grandmother Anna Zesut became a widow in 1917 when her first husband Kasper died unexpectedly of pneumonia.

On March 1, 1921 she married a man named Peter Spark.

I found Anna and Peter’s marriage certificate at the Glastonbury Town Hall. The information appearing on it is as follows.

State Of Connecticut Bureau Of Vital Statistics

License #272

Marriage License

Town Of Glastonbury

  • Groom’s Name:Peter Spark
  • Age:55
  • Color: White
  • Occupation: Mill Hand
  • Birthplace – Town: blank Country: Austria
  • His Residence: Glastonbury, Conn
  • Single, Widowed or Divorced?: Widow
  • 2d or 3d Marriage: Second
  • Name Of Father:Tony Spark
  • Maiden Name Of Mother: Henrietta
  • Bride’s Name:Annie Zesut
  • Age: 50
  • Color: White
  • Occupation: Housewife
  • Birthplace – Town: blank Country: Austria
  • Her Residence: Glastonbury, Conn
  • Single, Widowed or Divorced?: Widow
  • 2d or 3d Marriage: Second
  • Name Of Father: Egnatz Kopack
  • Maiden Name Of Mother: MaryBuras

The certificate is signed by Justice Of The Peace William B. Gabni and indicates the marriage ceremony took place on March 1, 1921 in Glastonbury. The license was applied for on the same day.

I transcribed the information from their marriage certificate when I visited the Glastonbury Town Hall in the Fall of 2007. I plan on going back and purchasing a certified copy. Once I get the copy I’ll scan and post it here.

I have yet to do any significant research on Peter Spark. I do know he had a son from his first marriage and that he died in 1934. He is buried in St. Augustine’s cemetery in Glastonbury but I have been unable to locate a headstone.

On this certificate I learned that Anna’s parents were Ignatz Kopec and Mary Buroz (misspelled on the document). These would be my Great Great Great Grandparents. My Great Grandfather Anthony’s middle name was Ignatz so it was interesting to see where that name came from.

Leave a Reply

